Popsecret "fan site" created by professionals.

Like Tim over at Adfreak we too received an email from someone who wrote:

Date: Fri, 4 Aug 2006 19:51:01 -0700
From: Dan Mulder
To: hostmaster*ad-rag
Subject: News: Pop Secret Mountain user generated ads

It appears a group of users who love Pop Secret popcorn have a created a new website showcasing short films, ringtones, and a crazy character called Kaptain Kat at http://www.PopSecretMountain.com/. They say they aren't making a dime on the website, but is merely a creative tribute to the popcorn they love. It's a fine example of what the user generated ad space could become.

Cheers, Dan

And that pretty much makes our delete-button-pushing-finger twitch so we ignored it as we do with all coy little lying emails that claim "someone else did it" and "they didn't get a dime". Yah, rrrright. Sure.

The only reason we're posting this now is because someone at Adfreak pointed out that the pop secret stuff comes from yourmediacoverage/projects. "Your Media Coverage was founded to create creative commercials, films, television programming and cutting edge Internet content" reads their about page. That's nice guys. Please grow up, next time you submit something to ad sites like this one, do us all a favor and take credit for your work.

about the author

Dabitch Creative Director, CEO, hell-raising sweetheart and editor of Adland. Globetrotting Swede who has lived and worked in New York, London, San Francisco, Amsterdam, Copenhagen and Stockholm.

Comments (14)

  • MaryWills's picture

    Someone needs to give these folks a lesson on transparency. ;)

    Aug 10, 2006
  • Neo's picture

    Your first instinct, to not publish the link to this crap was the right one.

    Aug 10, 2006
  • Dabitch's picture

    I'm just giving them a lesson in transparancy like MaryWills suggests. ;)

    Aug 10, 2006
  • caffeinegoddess's picture

    Note there was no link for me to check out...hence it ended up in the trash.

    Aug 09, 2006
  • caffeinegoddess's picture

    Hmm. Interesting. Back in March I received this email for my Cup of Java blog:

    From: Andrew Grimes
    to me
    Date: Mar 16
    Subject: Pop Secret Campaign


    I work for New Media Strategies, an online marketing firm that runs promotions for a bunch of the top studios and companies in the entertainment industry. We often partner with sites such as Cup of Java to promote films via online contests and giveaways. I'm currently working on a unique campaign for Pop Secret Popcorn, a sponsor of the 21st Annual Independent Spirit Awards. In support of the independent film community they've developed a new campaign entitled, "What's Your Pop Secret?" This project centers on a series of short films created by aspiring indie directors that offer a unique, funny, and an often strange take at people's relationship with popcorn (naturally). The films will be hosted on a new website that will feature content related to independent film, as well as an interactive movie trivia game.

    We're contacting you because we believe your readers will enjoy this innovative marketing campaign. While we're not conducting any contests at this time, we're hoping you might consider reviewing it, or even hosting the short films on your site. We very much hope that you will be interested and we would be happy to provide you with a sneak peak at some of the clips so you can get a better idea of what the campaign is all about.

    Thanks, and I look forward to hearing from you!


    Aug 09, 2006
  • Dabitch's picture

    Ok. Yourmediacobverage has posted a response of sorts here: Pop Secret Mountain news

    We're flattered that everyone thinks we were paid to do this. We're flattered that everyone thinks we're some big agency. Apparently no one has noticed that we have all the same people in our ads? We think it's pretty funny.
    In other news, the next Kaptain Kat cartoon is rendering. Unfortunately, we're not some big agency with a render farm, so it's going to take a little while.

    Ok. Heh. Render farm. At an ad agency? Riiiight. Its not the eighties anymore and ad agencies aren't production houses. But sure, you have a render farm. Anyway, I'm a busy busy hairdresser on fire here so make of that what you will. When I speeded through their about page, it sounded like this was their business. Did I misread that?

    Ps - yourmediacoverage.com is owned by Justin j5studios.com - see about page.

    Some are probably wondering...J5 Studios? What's with the name? Let's just say that I was a victim of the dot com shakeup. My other site, VenomousSnakes.com lost funding after one of the snakes bit an investor. Kidding, really. No, actually this was the shorter name of J5 Productions, an all purpose media company that guys whose name starts with the letter J started (hint hint....there were five of us....hence J5).
    I, Justin Ribeiro, am actually now running the domain, since that's just my part. The other four J's are still in the mix, and we are currently working on a new venture.

    I can see why the previous ventures failed... if they ain't getting paid for their work. ;)

    Aug 09, 2006
  • Neo's picture

    So..... Let me get this straight. The guy gets an MBA, and then he spends all his time on creating "user created content" for big brands but without getting the big bucks? Where did he get that MBA?

    Aug 09, 2006
  • dfarmer59's picture

    Way to burn those guys! If that wasn't direct corporate pandoring I don't know what is!? It's a fact, corproate America is infiltrating the blog space for one reason...you figured it out!

    Aug 08, 2006
  • noahr's picture

    is this some kind of alternate reality game? the yourmediacoverage website is so horrible, not to mentiom the work for pop secret, I almost wonder if some fans invented an ad agency along with made up work for clients they didn't have? it all seems so horrible to be true. On the yourmediacoverage site there are some "yaris" spec spots that are just too awful. Not funny awful where it goes back around to being good. just plain old applebee's style awful.

    Aug 09, 2006
  • adscam's picture

    I just went to their Web site and checked out their "Core Team." Jesus, these guys look like a bunch of fucking axe murderers. And what the hell is that guy David Steele's hair all about? Still what can you expect from a guy who goes on record as "loving the color orange!" They also say they do shit for a grand. They ain't gonna get rich at that rate!

    Sep 09, 2006
  • Fartmurder's picture
    Fartmurder (not verified)

    Oh, yes. Such a burn. And here it is 2015 and I farted.

    Jun 04, 2015
  • Refriedbeing's picture

    Haha, I originally wrote an entry in defense of the site, since I used to be close friends with one (hint: all of his fucking t-shirts were orange), but I realised I don't really give a shit, so I deleted it.

    May 15, 2008

Leave a comment