86th ADC Awards Jury Selected

The Art Directors Club has announced its chairs and jurors for the 86th Annual Awards competition in advertising, interactive media and graphic design. The ADC Annual Awards, the longest running competition in the industry, closes its Call for Entries for professionals on January 26 and for students on January 31, 2007.

Tony Granger, Chief Creative Officer of Saatchi & Saatchi, New York will chair Advertising. Chair for Interactive is Rei Inamoto, Global Creative Director, AKQA. Co-chairs for Design are Rebecca Mendez, principal at Rebecca Mendez Design in Los Angeles, and Adam Eeuwens, creative director of 34 Magazine. A full list of jurors appears below. They represent the largest international group of professionals to judge the awards, hailing from Europe, Australia, Asia, and South America, as well as from around the U.S., and reflect the increasingly international profile of the creative community.

"We chose these creative 'rock stars' as jurists because they lead the industry, and our charge to them, as always, will be to choose winners whose work pushes the envelope," said ADC Executive Director Myrna Davis. "As the industry's most highly regarded non-profit creative organization, ADC continues to set the bar for visual communications across disciplines, media platforms and geographic boundaries."

The chairs, along with selected judges from each of the three juries, will also judge the Hybrid category, which recognizes non-traditional uses of media, and select recipients for the new Corbis: Creativity for Social Justice prize--a $20,000 donation to the non-profit client of the winning entry, and a $5,000 scholarship to the winning pro-bono student entry--and for Yahoo!’s "Big Idea Chair" in the ADC Hybrid and Integrated Media category, which last year was awarded to "Goo," a Japanese entry for the Japanese search engine goo.com, from Ground, a division of Dentsu.

Granger, whose professional career has taken him from South Africa to London to New York, has served on the juries of numerous advertising competitions. "People have consistently looked to the ADC Awards to set the standards that other contests seek to uphold," Granger says. "I'm looking forward to working with a great jury, with a goal of producing an annual full of groundbreaking advertising and marketing ideas, all flawlessly executed."

AKQA's Inamoto says that the ADC Annual Awards have quickly distinguished themselves in the interactive creative community, where winning a coveted Gold or Silver ADC Cube has become a career-defining accomplishment. "In Japan, which is where I'm from and where the discipline of design is highly respected, the ADC is held in a high esteem few other organizations can match. I think this is true among creative communities around the world, which makes it a truly international competition in scope and breadth."

ADC's 86th Call for Entries and an online registration form can be found at www.adcawards.org, along with updates on the jurors. Entry deadline for professional entries is January 19, 2007. Students in accredited college level advertising and communications programs are eligible to enter any category, and have an extended deadline of January 31, 2007.

86th ADC Annual Awards Advertising Jury:
Kevin McKeon, Strawberry Frog, USA
Erik Vervroegen, TBWA, France
Andy Clarke, Carmichael Lynch, USA
Bettina Olf, Springer & Jacoby, Germany
Tina Johnson, The Richards Group, USA
Kristina Slade, Ground Zero, USA
Mark Tutssel, Leo Burnett, USA
Rob Baird, Mother, USA
Fran Luckin, Ogilvy, USA
Craig Smith, BBH, USA
Rose Sauquillo, TAXI, Canada
Mimi Cook, Goodby, Silverstein & Partners, USA
Pablo Del Campo, Del Camp Nazca Saatchi & Saatchi, Argentina
Ben Walker, Wieden + Kennedy, UK
Jureeporn Thaidumrong, JEH United, Thailand
Antonio Montero, Contrapunto BBDO, Spain
Cesar Finamori, BBDO, USA
Adam Tucker, DDB, London
Jonathan Kneebone, The Glue Society, Australia
James Dive, The Glue Society, Australia

86th ADC Annual Awards Interactive Media Jury:
Jason Marks, MTV.com, USA
Dean Di Simone, Tender Creative LLC, USA
Jerome Austria, AKQA, USA
Jorg Waldschutz, Neue Digitale, Germany
Tim Barber, Odopod, USA
Qian Qian, Q2design, USA
Robert Lindstrom, North Kingdom, Sweden
Iain Tait, Poke, UK
Anh Tuan Pham, ForOfficeUseOnly, USA
Ulises Valencia, Grupo W, Mexico
Yanyan Yang, Ogilvy One, China
Piero Frescobaldi, Unit 9, UK
Martin Cedergren, Forsman & Bodenfors, Sweden
Christian Haas, Goodby & Silverstein, USA
David Yu, DHKY, China
Mauricio Mazzariol, DDB, Brazil
Lars Cortsen, FramFab, Denmark
Naoki Itoh, GT INC., Japan
Masayoshi Boku, Bascule Inc., Japan
Keith Butters, The Barbarian Group, USA
Dave Bedwood, Lean Mean Fighting Machine, UK
Andre Matarazzo, Gringo, Brazil
Mauro Gatti, Mutado, Italy
Natalia Rojas, Cuatic, Spain
Elin Akerblad, Doberman, Sweden
Anna Coll, Double You, Spain

86th ACD Annual Awards Design Jury:
Alexei Tylevich, Logan, USA
Murat Patavi, Republica/34/haaz, Turkey
Niels “Shoe” Meulman, Unruly, Netherlands
Willem Henri Lucas, Willem Augustus, USA
Folkert Gorter, Superman Studios, USA
Jessica Helfand, Winterhouse, USA
Karin Fong, Imaginary Forces, USA
Gorgio Baravalle, de.MO, USA
Marc Atlan, Marc Atlan Design, USA
Jan Wilker, karlssonwilker, inc., USA
Rafael Esquer, Alfalfa, USA
Eng San Kho, Love and War, USA
Anja Lutz, Shift!, Germany
Irma Boom, Irma Boom Company, USA
Paul Davis, Big Orange, USA
Imin Pao, PP Group, Republic of China
Chaz Maviyane-Davies, Massachusetts College of Art, USA
Georgianna Stout, 2 x 4, New York

AnonymousCoward's picture
Files must be less than 500 KB.
Allowed file types: jpg jpeg gif png txt doc xls pdf ppt pps odt ods odp wav avi mpeg mpg mov rm flv wmv 3gp mp4 dir dcr ogg m4v.