AD STARS has unveiled this year’s finalists selected from a total of 21,530 entries – up from 18,063 entries last year. The festival recruited 210 online judges from 62 countries who selected just 1,799 finalists.


“It’s hard to believe how quickly our awards show has grown since we first launched in 2008. We received over 21,500 entries to the AD STARS Awards, which shows our mandate of being a global awards show that is free to enter and committed to ‘creativity for good’ is resonating with creative communities around the world. I’m especially proud of the diversity of entries and judges we have attracted this year,” says Eui Ja Lee, Co-chair of the AD STARS Executive Committee.


AD STARS is the only global festival that is free-to-enter and offers a US$10,000 cash prize for Grand Prix of the Year winners. With entries from 40 countries, AD STARS received the highest number of submissions from Japan, followed by Thailand, Korea, Australia, Philippines, China and New Zealand.


Agencies with 10 or more finalists include:


BMF (Australia          )                                               10 finalists

BWM Dentsu (Australia)                              10 finalists

McCann Melbourne (Australia)                   52 finalists

Ogilvy Melbourne (Australia)                                  11 finalists

Artplan (Brazil)                                                           16 finalists

Cheil (China)                                                 20 finalists

J. Walter Thompson Shanghai (China)      12 finalists

Publicis (China)                                             14 finalists

Cheil (Hong Kong)                                       21 finalists

Ogilvy & Mather Group (Hong Kong)                    13 finalists

Hakuhodo (Indonesia)                                              10 finalists

Daiko Advertising Inc.           (Japan)                       22 finalists

Dentsu            Inc. (Japan)                                        77 finalists

Hakuhodo Inc. / Kettle (Japan)                    49 finalists

Ogilvy & Mather (Japan)                             68 finalists

SIX INC (Japan)                                           14 finalists

TBWA Hakuhodo (Japan)                          36 finalists

Tohokushinsha Film Corporation (Japan)   20 finalists

Tokyu Agency Inc. (Japan)                          15 finalists

Cheil Worldwide (Republic of Korea)                    32 finalists

Innocean Worldwide (Republic of Korea)  42 finalists

Innored (Republic of Korea)                                    17 finalists

Serviceplan (Republic of Korea)                21 finalists

Leo Burnett (Malaysia)                                 12 finalists

Colenso BBDO (New Zealand)                 36 finalists

Wunderman (Peru)                                       22 finalists

BBDO Guerrero (Philippines)                                 11 finalists

McCann Worldgroup (Philippines)             12 finalists

Publicis JimenezBasic (Philippines)                       11 finalists

TBWA Santiago Mangada Puno (Philippines)     43 finalists

BBH Asia Pacific (Singapore)                                 17 finalists

MullenLowe (Singapore)                             25 finalists

Leo Burnett (Taiwan)                                                21 finalists

BBDO Bangkok (Thailand)                         61 finalists

CJ WORX (Thailand)                                               10 finalists

GREY (Thailand)                                          18 finalists

Ogilvy Group (Thailand)                              55 finalists

TBWA (Thailand)                                          30 finalists

BBDO (Pakistan)                                          16 finalists



Over 30 final judges will soon meet in Busan, South Korea on 22-23rd August to decide this year’s winners, which will be announced in a gala ceremony on Saturday 26th August.


AD STARS is now offering a 10% discount on early bird ticket sales to attend the 10th AD STARS festival, which runs from 24th to 26th August in Busan, South Korea.


With eight different registration packages to choose from, delegates can choose to attend both AD STARS 2017 and AD tech 2017, or purchase individual tickets to either conference, which take place concurrently at BEXCO Exhibition Centre. One-day passes and tickets to this year’s awards gala on Saturday 26th August are also available.   


Purchase tickets to AD STARS 2017 via





July 17, 2017


AD STARS will welcome over 30 judges representing 20 countries, who will fly to Busan, South Korea in August to judge the 2017 AD STARS Awards from 21st - 23rd August.


This year’s judges are:



Jody Xiong, Founder & Chief Creative Officer at The Nine

Steven Marolho, General Manager at Moving Picture Company

Yi Shen, Chairman at WMTAD Advertising Group

Krystie Koh, Managing Partner, Operation & Production Director at TSLA China (The Secret Little Agency China)

Yuxin Cao, Baidu Search Cmopany Marketing Department Business Ecosystem Deputy Manager at Baidu

Yan (Cindy) Chen, Partner & Chief Strategy Officer at Focus Media Group



Esther Wong, Executive Creative Director at TBWA Hong Kong        



I-Fei Chang, Chief Creative Officer at J. Walter Thompson in Taiwan              



Peter Grasse, Executive Producer at Dictionary Films Tokyo

Masashi Ariizumi, Creative Director & Senior Communication Director at ADK Tokyo

Morihiro Harano, Creative Director & Founder at Mori Inc



Rajay Singh, Film Director & Co-Founder at Directors Think Tank Malaysia & Singapore                               


Suthisak Sucharittanonta, Chairman & Chief Creative Officer at BBDO Bangkok (Executive Judge)



Wain Choi, Chief Creative Officer at Cheil Worldwide (Executive Judge)

Soo-Jin Kim, Creative Director at Daehong Communications

Kiyoung Kim, Executive Creative Director at Innocean Worldwide

Julie Kang, CEO & Managing Partner at Serviceplan Korea

Seowon Park, Chief Creative Officer at ORICOM



Adrian Bosich, Managing Partner at AIRBAG      



Tom Paine, Executive Creative Director at Y&R New Zealand



Anselmo Ramos, Chief Creative Officer & Founder at DAVID the Agency (Executive Judge)

Eric Springer, Executive Creative Director at Innocean Worldwide



Helen Pak, Chief Creative Officer at Grey Group Canada (Executive Judge)



Maximiliano Maddalena, Vice President & Executive Creative Director South Latin at Ogilvy & Mather



Marco Antonio Do Nascimento, Creative Director at Demner, Merlicek & Bergmann   in Austria



Pavel Fuksa, Head of Design at Pavel Fuksa Design



Doerte Spengler-Ahrens, Managing Director Creation at Jung von Matt/SAGA GmbH



Rindert Dalstra, Digital Strategic Director at TBWA



Adrian Botan, Global Executive Creative Director, McCann Worldgroup

Matthew Leem, Business Director at Ogilvy & Mather



Liam Wielopolski, Chief Creative Officer at DDB South Africa    



Adland® is supported by your donations alone. You can help us out by buying us a Ko-Fi coffee.
Anonymous Adgrunt's picture
Files must be less than 1 MB.
Allowed file types: jpg jpeg gif png wav avi mpeg mpg mov rm flv wmv 3gp mp4 m4v.