The WIN Ad Awards

(press release)

Los Angeles, CA – (August 10, 2004) Women’s Image Network, (WIN), announces the addition of a new television advertising component to The 11th WIN Awards Show and presents its panel of illustrious judges. The new WIN Awards television advertising component will recognize outstanding television advertising created, directed or produced by a woman. Men are also encouraged and welcome to enter The 2004 WIN Ad Awards, as WIN also honors advertising that empowers women.

The 2004 WIN Ad Award judges include: Michael Conrad: Dean, Cannes Lions Academy /Cheryl Berman, CCO, Leo Burnett, Charlotte Moore, Sally Hogshead, Ellen Steinberg, Amee Shah: Bartle, Bogle & Hegarty, Monica Taylor, Weiden+Kennedy, Tone Garmann: New Deal-DDB, Jamie Barrett: Goodby, Silverstein & Partners, Joyce King Thomas, McCann-Erickson, Mr. David Oakley: Boone/Oakley, Chris Staples: Rethink, Luke Sullivan: GSD+M and Jury Chairman, Liz Paradise, Mckinney+Silver.

The WIN Awards Show is scheduled for November 7, 2004 in Los Angeles, (with a follow-up presentation of the winning ad work in New York City in January). Entry deadline is September 15, 2004.

The WIN Awards has established itself as the only awards show of its kind. The WIN Awards stand alone venerating studio films and broadcast network, cable television (and now television/internet advertising), and recognizing outstanding television commercials, films and television shows that feature female protagonists OR that have been directed OR created by women.

WIN has established specific measures that promise to make The 2004 WIN Ad Awards a must ATTEND show. First, WIN gathered men and women who are not token judges, but who are internationally renowned, industry trailblazers, who actively create exceptional work. Generously donating their time our eminent judges will spend countless hours reviewing WIN Ad Award entries to uphold our high creative standards.

Secondly, a truly great show must be entered by all the agencies producing today's noteworthy advertising. Given our high achieving illustrious panel of judges, rest assured that The WIN Ad Award participants will compete side-by-side with the best in the business.

Thirdly, a successful show is backed by an enduring, committed organization. Women’s Image Network, a 501c3 non-profit corporation that was founded in 1993 and which created The WIN Awards to further its mission to "Foster A World Where Everyone WINs". WIN supports and acknowledges media makers for their work that levels the playing field for women.

Lastly, a pre-eminent awards show must provide an inspiring record of its results. Since our formation WIN has produced countless shows, live events, film screenings, industry panel discussions, an ABC Primetime network television show, 50 YEARS OF FUNNY FEMALES, five WINFemme Film Festivals, (to launch independent short, feature and documentary films), and The WIN Awards. Previous WIN Award recipients include: Lauren Bacall, Lauren Shuler Donner, Jane Campion Renée Zellweger, Lynn Redgrave, Kathy Najimy, Ryan Phillipe, Tom Wilkinson, Sarah Jessica Parker, Lynn Redgrave, Pierce Brosnan, Lily Tomlin, Vicky Jenson & Laura Ziskin.

The WIN Ad Awards will be adjudicated on both creative excellence and effectiveness. The actual awards are inspired by "the triple Greek Goddesses" and participants will compete for The Hecate Award (top), The Isis Award, (2nd place) and The Persephone Award, (3rd place).

These awards will applaud the best work of 2004 that sets industry standards for creative excellence and serves as a source of inspiration worldwide. WIN aims to leverage its many successes and great support from its powerful, entertainment industry relationships and create its WIN Awards show to promote female talent within the advertising industry.

WIN believes that to the extent women’s voices stay silent we all are robbed of their contribution. And although women represent over 50% of the population, females remain vastly under-represented in media creation, especially in advertising where women comprise just 15% of ad agency creative departments and 22% of the DGA, (The Director’s Guild of America). The WIN Ad Awards will not only applaud established creatives, but will also aims to encourage young women to enter advertising. By bringing a broader base of talent into the industry doesn’t just serve women, it serves advertising.

Women’s Image Network long history inludes the annual WIN Film Festival, which features independent films that feature female protagonists, countless live events and television, including the ABC Primetime Special, "FIFTY YEARS OF FUNNY FEMALES", with hosts John Ritter, Paula Poundstone, Debbie Allen and Annie Potts.

According to WIN’s founder, actress Phyllis Stuart, "Since our 1993 inception I’ve wanted to include the advertising industry along side our honored film and television creatives. This year, not only will we be honoring top 2003 films and television shows, but by adding the WIN Ad Awards to our 2004 WIN Awards, we will enhance women advertising creatives (and men who create ad work which empowers women), thereby encouraging the entire ad industry to create advertising that depicts women as fully-dimensional, capable, contributing people".

WHERE: Los Angeles, California & New York City.

WHEN: Call to Enter: July 1, 2004. Deadline for Entries: September 15, 2004

JUDGING: Michael Conrad, Sally Hogshead, Charlotte Moore, Ellen Steinberg, Joyce King Thomas, McCann-Erickson, Amee Shah: Bartle, Bogle & Hegarty, Monica Taylor, Weiden+Kennedy, Tone Garmann: New Deal-DDB, Jamie Barrett: Goodby, Silverstein & Partners, David Oakley: Boone/Oakley, Chris Staples: Rethink and Luke Sullivan: GSD+M. Liz Paradise, McKinney+Silver, Jury Chair.


ENTRY DEADLINE: September 15, 2005.

TO ENTER AN INTERACTIVE OR TELEVISION COMMERCIAL for consideration or for additional information contact Joy Tuttle: 310-229-5365 or contact Visit the website for a WIN Ad Awards Entry Form.

Adland® is supported by your donations alone. You can help us out by buying us a Ko-Fi coffee.
Anonymous Adgrunt's picture
Files must be less than 1 MB.
Allowed file types: jpg jpeg gif png wav avi mpeg mpg mov rm flv wmv 3gp mp4 m4v.
//* */